Bela Bartok - Mikrokosmos Volume 1 (Blue): 153 Progressive Piano Pieces (Paperback)

Bela Bartok - Mikrokosmos Volume 1 (Blue): 153 Progressive Piano Pieces By Bela Bartok (Composer) Cover Image
By Bela Bartok (Composer)
Available at wholesaler. We can order it for you.


(BH Piano). The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter Bartok. (English/Spanish/Japanese/Portuguese text). In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for "didactic" purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the "world of the little ones, the children". Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written. The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty. Major teaching points highlighted in Mikrokosmos 2: Staccato, legato; Accompaniment in broken triads; Accents Volume 1 contains Nos. 1-36.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780851626079
ISBN-10: 0851626076
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes Inc
Publication Date: June 1st, 2004
Pages: 36
Language: English