Harry of England: The History of Eight Kings, From Henry I to Henry VIII (Hardcover)

Harry of England: The History of Eight Kings, From Henry I to Henry VIII By Teresa Cole Cover Image
This book is out of stock and awaiting a reprint. Please check back later for availability changes.


A fascinating multiple biography of eight English kings united by a name, including Henry VIII and his successors as King Harry.

Eight kings of England have borne the name Henry, but only two of them were born as heirs to the throne: Two seized the crown by force of arms, one by craft and opportunistic speed, and one by skillful diplomacy and an early flowering of that great British virtue, compromise.

Among their number are saints and monsters, the best known and the least known of English kings. One was a storybook hero, leading an army to triumph against overwhelming odds. Another sat out a battle, singing to himself and playing with his fingers while the arrows flew past. Half of them have been accused of blatant murder, though in general the actual killings were carried out by others.

Between them, these English monarchs represent every possible shade of kingship, and each in his own time was ‘Harry of England’.

About the Author

Teresa Cole was a teacher for thirty years before turning to writing. She is the author of Henry V: The Life of the Warrior King & the Battle of Agincourt 1415 (‘Cole understands the importance of drama … a thorough account of Henry’s life’ – History of Warmagazine), The Norman Conquest: William the Conqueror’s Subjugation of England, and After the Conquest: The Divided Realm 1066-1135.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781445698649
ISBN-10: 1445698641
Publisher: Amberley Publishing
Publication Date: August 1st, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English